Andréa Banke, oboe

Andréa Banke currently serves as Assistant Professor of Oboe at Wichita State University, Principal Oboe with the Wichita Symphony Orchestra and Lieurance Woodwind Quintet. Prior to coming to Kansas, Ms Banke held the position of Principal Oboe of the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra in New York. An active chamber and orchestral musician, Andréa has performed as Guest Principal Oboist with the Baltimore Symphony and the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. Ms Banke has appeared as soloist with the Kansas City Chamber Orchestra, the Heidelberg Opera Schlossfestpiele in Germany, the Camerata Philharmonica Bohemia in Czech Republic, and been a recitalist with members of the Los Angeles Mozart Orchestra.

From 1997-2001, Ms Banke performed over 500 woodwind quintet recitals, educational concerts, and outreach classes as solo oboist of the Dakota Wind Quintet -- appearing in diverse venues from a Sioux Indian pow wow to a high -security prison in Nebraska. Closer to home, she now serves as the chamber music coach and lecturer at Chamber Music at the Barn’s Camp Da Capo” program for adult musicians.

Andréa's playing has been featured on NPR’s Performance Today and WXXI (NY) Live From Hochstein as a soloist. Ms Banke earned degrees from the Eastman School of Music under Richard Killmer (BM), summa cum laude, and the University of Minnesota under Kathryn Greenbank (MM). The Argus Leader (Sioux Falls) has called her playing “a thread of gold”, and the International Double Reed Society Journal as “[showing] lots of flair, verve and technique.”
Ms Banke’s dedication to chamber music extends to the Czech Republic, where she now spends her summers as oboe professor of AMEROPA, an international chamber festival taking place in the historic city of Prague.

Audio Selections:

Mozart - Quartet for Oboe, Violin, Viola and Cello 
   I. Allegro 
   III. Rondo: Allegro 

Meyerbeer / Bertelemy -Fantastia L'Africanne

Haas, Pavel - Suite Op. 17

Poulenc - Trio: Lent-Presto

Quantz - Trio Sonata in C Minor: I
Quantz - Trio Sonata in C Minor: II

Lalo Schifrin - La Nouvelle Oreleans

Goossens - Concerto for Oboe

Bozza - Improvisation

Poulenc - Sonata: Elegie

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.